Annual Meetings

As a membership organization, Womanspace is required to hold annual membership meetings. For many years, the annual meeting was a forum for members and interested community members to hear speakers who were in the domestic violence field. In 1994, the President’s Award was instituted to honor an individual or organization who was directly involved with Womanspace and who made significant contributions to our agency and the clients we serve.


  • 1981: Paulette Sapp, Trenton’s newly appointed Municipal Court Judge
  • 1982: Barbara Sigmund, Freeholder
  • 1984: Joan Wright, Director of the New Jersey Division on Women
  • 1985: Kent Manahan & Janice Sellinger, New Jersey Network, honored for their work on the national public television documentary Battered Wives, Shattered Lives
  • 1986: Lisa Aversa Richette, Philadelphia Family Court Judge; author of The Throwaway Children
  • 1987: Reverend Rochelle Robinson, former Dean of Students and Interim Director of the Women’s Center, Princeton University
  • 1988: Ronald A. Chez, M.D., Professor and Vice Chairperson of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, New Jersey Medical School of the University of Medicine and Dentistry
  • 1989: Honorable Wynona M. Lipman, New Jersey State Senate; Special Recognition – Mercer County Municipal Police Departments
  • 1990: Ruth I. Slaughter, Community Coordinator for the National Women and AIDS Risk Network (W.A.R.N.) Project in Los Angeles, California
  • 1991: John Aponte, M.A., Director, Alternatives to Violence Project of the Victim Services Agency, New York City
  • 1992: Roberta W. Francis, Director, New Jersey Division on Women
  • 1993: Dr. Myriam Miedzian, nationally recognized journalist, educator and author of Boys Will Be Boys
  • 1994: Speaker Maryann K. Bielamowicz, Mercer County Prosecutor. President’s Award: Kerry Lynn Brahan. Special Recognition: Mary Ann Cannon, Jane R. Altman, Beverly Truehart, and in memory of Bonnie Michelle Thomas-Weltch
  • 1995: Speaker Deborah Spungen, nationally recognized advocate for victim’s rights, expert on trauma and violence prevention in the workplace and author of And I Don’t Want to Live This Life; President’s Award: Ellen Belknap; Special Recognition: Deborah Singleton
  • 1996: Speaker Joan Pennington, Executive Director of the National Center for Protective Parents, Inc. President’s Award: Courtney Esposito
  • 1997: Speaker Valorie Caffee, Womanspace founder. President’s Award: Mayor Marvin Reed
  • 1998: President’s Award: East Windsor Police Department, for providing the first Domestic Violence Victim Response Team in Mercer County. Special Recogniton: Mercer County Sheriff’s Office and Peter and David Mancuso
  • 1999: President’s Award: The Jewish Family and Children’s Services of Greater Mercer County for Project Sarah, which provides counseling, emergency financial assistance in support of Jewish families and individuals in crisis. Special Recognition: Hopewell Borough, Hopewell Township, Pennington Borough, Princeton Borough and West Windsor Township Police Departments
  • 2000: President’s Award: Susan N. McCoy, MD; Special Recognition: Ewing Township Police Department
  • 2001: President’s Award: Honorable Kevin McGrory, Presiding Judge, Mercer County Municipalities; Special Recognition: Hamilton Township Police Department
  • 2002: President’s Award: E. Leigh Gibson & Andrew Strauss, Womanspace Volunteers; Special Recognition: Lawrence Township & City of Trenton Police Department
  • 2003: President’s Award: Richard Bilotti, Editor, The Times of Trenton; Special Recognition: Hightstown and Princeton Township Police Departments

Internet Safety

Simple Safety Steps

Support Us

Help Womanspace continue our mission. Donate today.